In Japan, kinako is a soybean flour used as a healthier, low-carb alternative to all-purpose flour. Adding kinako to bread, smoothies, and other dishes also affords you many of the health benefits of soybeans.
Category - Gluten Free
Tokoroten, also known as Japanese jelly noodles, are a cold noodle dish made from kanten, a gelatinous substance made from seaweed. This vegetarian and healthier alternative to pasta can be enjoyed as either a savory or sweet dish.
Eating gluten-free Japanese food is possible but selections can be very limited. Follow the tips in this guide to ordering and purchasing gluten-free Japanese food and you’ll be able to enjoy Japanese cuisine safely and confidently.
There are several staples in Japanese cuisine that contain gluten. However, with the introduction of gluten-free miso and soy sauce as well as numerous naturally gluten-free foods, diners can still enjoy Japanese flavors.
Konnyaku is an odd Japanese ingredient that doesn’t look especially appealing, but it’s very healthy ingredient indeed. It can be used in many culinary dishes as an alternative to carb-heavy ingredients.
There is much more to mochi than a simple ice cream treat—in Japan, mochi refers to the coating that surrounds the ice cream, not the ice cream treat itself, and it has several culinary and celebratory uses.
White rice often accompanies a Japanese meal, but is lacking in nutrition. Many are now choosing Zakkokumai a healthier alternative to rice. It is rice that has been mixed with grains, seeds, beans and millet, offering many health benefits.